The Golden City and its Food

View from Letná Park

I love this city. It’s beautiful. It’s gorgeous. It’s pretty. It’s amazing. Night and day; it’s all perfect. I don’t even know where to begin. We have been so busy with language classes; boat cruises; weekend trips to Italy and Oktoberfest; and field trips to Český Krumlov, Kutná Hora, Svatý Jan pod Skalou, Vienna Budapest, or Bratislava. Oh yes, and school. We have been busy with school.

My life is really hard.

Anyway, I guess it’s time for me to tell you everything about Prague. Let’s start with food…

Dessert dumping/Main dish for vegetarians

The entire city just smells good.

Česká kuchyně/Czech Cuisine:

  • Knedliky/Dumplings: A traditional side dish made from wheat or potato flour, boiled in water as a roll and then sliced and served hot. The dessert dumplings (see picture above) have a fruit filling, soaked in butter and are topped in powdered sugar and some sort of cheese. They are delicious, but SO sweet. One is usually served as a dessert, but the meal comes with 3 (which is way too much).
  • Guláš: is a soup or stew of meat, noodles and vegetables. It is usually served with dumplings.
  • Smažený Sýr/Fried Cheese: Basically mozzarella sticks, but in the shape of a large rectangle. I’ve only had it once due to the lack of other vegetarian options (and it was free!) and it is served with french fries and tartar sauce. It was delicious and filling, but just a little too unhealthy.
  • Polévka/Soup: I have learned to love soup while here! It’s always served before the main dish so I never have room to eat anything else. I think this is where the good smells come from. The typical soups are garlic soup and onion soups.
  • Pivo/Beer: Beer is about 30 crowns, which is about $1.50. Water is about $5. Always bring your own water! They also love carbonated water.

I rarely see vegetables, but they tend to be fried if I do. Usually it’s fried cauliflower. I didn’t start off on a good note with my teacher when I told her fried cauliflower with mayo is not healthy. All 110 lbs of here needed to know.

Restaurants and Cafes:

There is an endless variety of food in Prague and for some reason, a lot of Italian restaurants and kabob shops. Oddly, there are an amazing amount of KFCs, Starbucks, Subways and McDonald’s. They are a little pricey compared to other food joints, but I love McDonald’s here. Yes, I admit it. The McCafes are amazing. What McDonald’s gives you ceramic and glass wear in the U.S.?

There are also the occasional T.G.I. Fridays and Hooters, but I’ve never tried them.

There are chains of bakeries called “Panneria” and ”Pekarstvi Jecminek” that usually have stands or shops in the metro areas. They have pastries, coffee, muffins, ice cream (at some) and sandwiches. I think the sandwiches are a little dry, but they do have a lot of vegetarian options. Usually the vegetarian sandwiches consist of just cheese though.

And most importantly, I have found smoothies, bagels and mexican food!

Markets:

The grocery stores are small and again separated from the butcher shops or pharmacies. That seems to be common in Europe. In Bilabo, I had a hard time finding a Whole Foods or Trader Joes type store. I have found a few vegetarian grocery stores (amazing!).

There is also a Walmart/Target like store here called Tesco. It’s amazing! The prices are fair. They sell peanut butter. It’s a win.

Some sort of Cinnamon dessert.

Leave a Reply

