Things I miss about the U.S.

My time in Spain is coming to an end. I still have about a month and a half left, but I’m now making plans for the summer instead of Spain. When I speak to my friends from the States, certain items come to mind more than others. I’m not excited to leave Spain, but I’m excited to reunite with what I miss most about the U.S.

I hear it’s common for Americans to miss peanut butter. I never had an issue with peanut butter until today when the grocery store closest to me ran out. They’ve been out all week so I finally came to the conclusion that they no longer carried it. But, one of the perks of living where I do is that there is another grocery store 25 yards away.

Yes, there are going to be many things I miss about Spain, but the grass is always greener on the other side.

Things I miss about living in the US:

1) Food:

  • Microwave bean and cheese burritos
  • Smoothies and my Magic Bullet
  • Take Out
  • Diverse food.
  • Almond Milk
  • Egg Whites
2) People
  • Friends and family of course
  • Holidays with family
  • Customer service
  • People who walk at a “normal” speed
3) Convenience:
  • 24 hour grocery stores
  • Or just grocery stores open past 9 p.m.
  • English: communicating freely
  • Department stores with everything in them
  • Free wi-fi
  • Clothes dryer
  • Sundays: NOTHING is open on Sundays in the Basque Country
  • The dollar with out conversion fees
  • The Internet in general: they are a little behind here
  • Driving

4) College

  • Football season
  • The Rec Center
  • Having a house
  • The Library
  • Actually, just having a campus

5) Lakers/Chargers

6) Bathtubs

Leave a Reply

